EU Agencies

A number of specialised EU agencies have been established to support the EU Member States and their citizens. The EEA EFTA States participate in the agencies below through decisions of the EEA Joint Committee. In addition, bilateral agreements with the EU ensure the participation of individual EFTA States in several other EU agencies.

List of Agencies with EEA EFTA participation:

EU Agency EEA Joint Committee Decision EEA EFTA Participation From
Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators (ACER) No. 93/2017 03.10.2019
European Agency for Safety and Health at Work (EU-OSHA) No. 160/2009 01.01.2010
European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) No. 179/2004 01.06.2005
European Banking Authority (EBA) No. 199/2016 01.10.2016
European Centre for Development of Vocational Training (CEDEFOP)   01.01.1994
European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) No. 23/2005   01.01.2005
European Chemicals Agency (ECHA) No. 25/2008 05.06.2008
European Environment Agency (EEA) No. 11/1994 01.01.1995
European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) No. 134/2007 01.05.2010
European Foundation for Improvement of Living and Working Conditions (EUROFOUND)   01.01.1994
European  Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA)

No 200/2016

European Union Agency for the Space Programme (EUSPA) No. 319/2021 01.01.2009
European Maritime Safety Agency (EMSA) No. 81/2003 01.01.2004
European Medicine Agency (EMA) No. 74/1999 01.01.2000
European Union Agency for Cybersecurity (ENISA) No. 130/2014 01.02.2006
European Railway Agency (ERA) No. 248/2021 01.02.2006
European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA)

No. 201/2016

European Data Protection Board (EDPB) No. 154/2018 20.07.2018
Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC) No. 274/2021 *

*Entry into force of Joint Committee Decision (JCD) pending

Was the content helpful?