The Chairmanship rotates every six months. For the EFTA Council, the chairmanship rotates between Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland. For the EFTA Standing Committee, the Chairmnaship rotates between the three EEA EFTA States, namely Iceland Liechtenstein and Norway. The Chairmanship of the EEA Joint Committee is alternatively held by the EU side and an EEA EFTA State. Below you find an overview of which country holds the chairmanship - past, present and future - as well as the historic priorities of the Council Chair and the work programme of the Standing Committee.



EFTA Standing Committee*  EEA Joint Committee* 
1/2014 Iceland Norway EU
2/2014 Switzerland Liechtenstein Liechtenstein
1/2015 Liechtenstein Iceland EU
2/2015 Norway Norway Norway
1/2016 Switzerland Liechtenstein EU
2/2016 Iceland Iceland Iceland
1/2017 Norway Norway EU
2/2017 Liechtenstein Liechtenstein Liechtenstein
1/2018 Iceland Iceland EU
2/2018 Switzerland Norway Norway
1/2019 Liechtenstein Liechtenstein EU
2/2019 Norway Iceland Iceland
1/2020 Switzerland Norway EU
2/2020   Liechtenstein Liechtenstein
1/2021   Iceland EU
2/2021   Norway Norway
1/2022   Liechtenstein EU
2/2022   Iceland Iceland

*Switzerland is not part of the EEA Agreement. For information regarding Switzerland's agreements with the EU, please see the European Commission website and the Swiss Federal Administration website.


EFTA Council


EFTA Standing Committee


Legal Notes on the EEA Agreement