EEA EFTA - UK Separation Agreement

On 28 January 2020, the EEA EFTA States – Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway – and the United Kingdom signed an agreement on protecting citizen rights and resolving separation issues as the UK exited the EU and the EEA.

The agreement between the EEA EFTA States and the UK covers issues such as rights related to residence, mutual recognition of professional qualifications and coordination of social security systems. It also contains arrangements on separation issues such as arrangements on goods placed on the EEA EFTA or UK markets, intellectual property, data protection, public procurement, and ongoing police and judicial cooperation in criminal matters.

Find the UK-EEA EFTA Separation Agreement here.

Below you also find decisions adopted by the Joint Committee under the Separation Agreement and other useful documents.

Head of EEA Legal Coordination
EEA Coordination Division

+32 2 28 61 712

Was the content helpful?