EEA Council

The EEA Council meets twice a year at ministerial level and provides political impetus for the development of the EEA Agreement. The EEA EFTA States are represented in the EEA Council by their respective ministers of foreign or European affairs. The European Union is represented by the rotating presidency of the Council of the EU, as well as representatives of the European External Action Service and the European Commission. 
The Presidency of the EEA Council alternates each term between the EU and the EEA EFTA side. In addition to the plenary session of the EEA Council, a political dialogue takes place on topical foreign policy issues. The EEA Council adopts conclusions providing a common assessment of the overall functioning of EEA cooperation. As part of this assessment, the EEA Joint Committee prepares a progress report on its activities for each EEA Council meeting. The EEA Council also takes into consideration resolutions adopted by the EEA Joint Parliamentary Committee and the EEA Consultative Committee since its last meeting.

EEA Council conclusions

Find older EEA Council conclusions here.


EEA progress reports

Find older EEA progress reports here.


Rules of procedure for the EEA Council


Was the content helpful?