Latest News


EEA Joint Committee adopts Decisions related to COVID-19

On 3 April, the EEA Joint Committee adopted by written procedure* two Decisions related to COVID-19. The two Decisions concern official controls on the agri-food chain and suspension of the airline slot requirements. The adopted Decisions entered into force immediately as there were no constitutional requirements to be fulfilled.

Exports of equipment to fight COVID-19 authorised from the EU to the EFTA States

The European Commission has decided that new export restrictions on personal protective equipment, essential in the fight against the spread of COVID-19, will not apply to the EFTA States. This means that exports of the above equipment to Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland will continue to move freely.

EFTA and Malaysia resume free trade negotiations

Delegations from the EFTA States and Malaysia convened from 25 to 28 February 2020 in Kuala Lumpur for the ninth round of negotiations on an Economic Partnership Agreement. Ms Sumathi Balakrishnan, Senior Director at the Ministry of International Trade and Industry, headed the Malaysian delegation while Ambassador Markus Schlagenhof from Switzerland acted as the EFTA spokesperson.

Andorran Minister visits the EFTA Secretariat

On Monday 24 February, the Andorran Minister of Foreign Affairs, Maria Ubach Font, visited the EFTA Secretariat in Geneva and met with Deputy Secretary-General Pascal Schafhauser.

EFTA and Canada Heads of delegation meet to continue exploratory discussions

Heads of delegations from the EFTA States and Canada met on 13 February 2020 in Ottawa, Canada. They updated each other on recent developments and further discussed a possible modernisation and expansion of their existing Free Trade Agreement. Ambassador Harald Aspelund from Iceland acted as EFTA spokesperson. Mr Louis Marcotte, Director General for Trade in Services, Investment and Intellectual Property, Global Affairs Canada, headed the Canadian delegation.

Seminar on the European Economic Area - EEA - Brussels 15 September 2020