32006L0126.A13

EN

DECISION OF THE EEA JOINT COMMITTEE No 29/2008

of 14 March 2008

amending Annex XIII (Transport) to the EEA Agreement

THE EEA JOINT COMMITTEE,

Having regard to the Agreement on the European Economic Area, as amended by the Protocol adjusting the Agreement on the European Economic Area, hereinafter referred to as 'the Agreement', and in particular Article 98 thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Annex XIII to the Agreement was amended by Decision of the EEA Joint Committee No 13/2008 of 1 February 2008¹.
- (2) Directive 2006/126/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 20 December 2006 on driving licences (Recast)² is to be incorporated into the Agreement.
- (3) Directive 2006/126/EC repeals Council Directive 91/439/EEC³, which is incorporated into the Agreement, with effect from 19 January 2013, except for Article 2(4), which is repealed with effect from 19 January 2007.
- (4) Therefore, Directive 91/439/EEC is to be repealed under the Agreement with effect from 19 January 2013,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

Annex XIII to the Agreement shall be amended as follows:

- 1. The following point shall be inserted after point 24e (Regulation (EC) No 561/2006 of the European Parliament and of the Council):
 - [•]24f. **32006 L 0126**: Directive 2006/126/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 20 December 2006 on driving licences (Recast) (OJ L 403, 30.12.2006, p. 18).

¹ OJ L 154, 12.6.2008, p. 27.

² OJ L 403, 30.12.2006, p. 18.

³ OJ L 237, 24.8.1991, p. 1.

The provisions of the Directive shall, for the purposes of this Agreement, be read with the following adaptations:

(a) The second sentence of Article 1(1) shall be replaced by the following:

"The driving licences of the EFTA States shall contain the distinguishing sign of the State issuing the licence. The respective distinguishing signs are: IS (Iceland), FL (Liechtenstein), N (Norway)."

- (b) Liechtenstein shall, in case of accession of new Member States to the EEA, have a transitional period of 5 years before the obligations under Article 1(1) in connection with Annex I, point 3, letter (e) apply.
- (c) In point 3 of Annex I, the introductory sentence in letter (c) regarding page 1 of the licence shall be replaced by the following:

"the distinguishing sign of the EFTA State issuing the licence encircled by the ellipse referred to in Article 37 of the U.N. Convention on road traffic of 8 November 1968 (with the same background as the driving licence); the distinguishing signs shall be as follows:"

- (d) In point 3 of Annex I, the following shall be added in letter (c) regarding page 1 of the licence:
- "IS: Iceland
- FL: Liechtenstein
- N: Norway;"
 - (e) In point 3 of Annex I, the words "European Communities model" in letter (e) regarding page 1 of the licence shall be replaced by "EEA model".
 - (f) In point 3 of Annex I, the following shall be added to letter (e) regarding page 1 of the licence:

"Ökuskírteini

Førerkort/Førarkort;"

- (g) In point 3 of Annex I, letter (f) regarding page 1 of the licence shall not apply.
- (h) In point 3 of Annex I, the words "or Icelandic or Norwegian" shall be added in letter (b) regarding page 2 of the licence after the word "Swedish".
- 2. The following indent shall be added in point 24a (Council Directive 91/439/EEC):
 - '- 32006 L 0126: Directive 2006/126/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 20 December 2006 (Recast) (OJ L 403, 30.12.2006, p. 18).'

3. The text of point 24a (Council Directive 91/439/EEC) shall be deleted with effect from 19 January 2013.

Article 2

The texts of Directive 2006/126/EC in the Icelandic and Norwegian languages, to be published in the EEA Supplement to the *Official Journal of the European Union*, shall be authentic.

Article 3

This Decision shall enter into force on 15 March 2008, provided that all the notifications under Article 103(1) of the Agreement have been made to the EEA Joint Committee^{*}.

Article 4

This Decision shall be published in the EEA Section of, and in the EEA Supplement to, the *Official Journal of the European Union*.

Done at Brussels, 14 March 2008.

For the EEA Joint Committee The President

Alan Seatter

The Secretaries to the EEA Joint Committee

Bergdis Ellertsdóttir Matthias Brinkmann

Constitutional requirements indicated.