The EFTA States and the MERCOSUR States met for their 7th round of negotiations from 11 to 15 February 2019 in Buenos Aires, Argentina. 


A Joint Statement announcing the conclusion of the exploratory dialogue on a possible comprehensive free trade agreement between the MERCOSUR States and the EFTA States was signed in Davos, Switzerland, on 19 January 2017.

A total of seven negotiation rounds have been held since the first round in June 2017. A total of two rounds were held during 2017 (June and August) and four rounds during 2018 (April, June, October and November). The location of the rounds alternates between Geneva and Buenos Aires. 

Expert working groups normally convening during the rounds cover: Trade in Goods; Rules of Origin; Trade Facilitation; Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures; Technical Barriers to Trade; Trade Remedies; Competition, Trade in Services; Investment; Intellectual Property Rights; Government Procurement; Trade and Sustainable Development and Legal and Horizontal Issues.

Joint Declaration on Cooperation
Head of Trade Relations Coordination
Trade Relations Division

+41 223322 631

Seminar on the European Economic Area - Brussels 17 September 2019