Joint Declarations on Cooperation

In addition to Free Trade Agreements the EFTA States have concluded Joint Declarations on Cooperation with a number of partners.

These Joint Declarations on Cooperation:

  • Can be a first step towards free trade relations with the partners concerned.
  • Address cooperation on trade-related issues such as information on foreign trade, customs and origin matters, technical barriers to trade, intellectual property rights, trade in services, public procurement markets and competition.
  • Aim to improve conditions for the implementation of private sector cooperation.
  • Establish  joint committee allowing the parties to review their cooperation, discuss any other issue of mutual interest and formulate appropriate recommendations.

EFTA has Joint Declarations on Cooperation with the following partners:

Furthermore, EFTA concluded Joint Declarations on Cooperation with the following partners prior to starting free trade negotiations on or concluding a Free Trade Agreement:

Albania, Algeria, Colombia, Croatia, Ecuador, Egypt, Georgia, Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), Jordan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Macedonia, Mercosur,
Montenegro, Morocco, Palestinian Authority, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Serbia, Tunisia, and Ukraine.

Trade Relations Division

+41 223322 630

Was the content helpful?

EEA Seminar - 14 September 2021