The Working Group on Free Movement of Persons, Employment and Social Policy is responsible for legislation contained in Annex V on the Free Movement of Workers and Annex VIII on the Right of Establishment. These areas are covered by Article 28 of the EEA Agreement.

Free movement of persons is one of the core freedoms of the Internal Market. The aim of the principle of free movement of persons is to eliminate discrimination based on nationality and to simplify administrative procedures, to create a Europe in which people are encouraged to move and reside freely. Accordingly, nationals of the EEA EFTA States (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) have the same right as EU citizens to take up an economic activity anywhere in the EU/EEA without being discriminated against on the grounds of their nationality. Equally, EU citizens have the right to work and reside in the EEA EFTA States. Non-economically active persons such as pensioners, students and family members of EEA nationals are also entitled to move and reside anywhere in the EU/EEA subject to certain conditions as set out in the relevant EU legislation.

The Working Group on Free Movement of Persons, Employment and Social Policy meets regularly and actively follows EU initiatives within their field, including attending multilateral expert group meetings with the European Commission.


See also:

DG Employment - Free movement of workers

DG Justice - Right to move and reside freely within Europe

EFTA Surveillance Authority – Free Movement of Persons

Internal Market Division

+32 22 861 757

Was the content helpful?