Cultural Affairs

The policy area of Cultural Affairs is covered by Protocol 31, Article 13 to the EEA Agreement and falls under Subcommittee IV.

The key priority for the Working Group on Cultural Affairs is the participation of the EEA EFTA States in the Creative Europe Programme, (read more about EEA EFTA Participation in EU Programmes) which was originally set up to stimulate the mobility of artists and art.

Culture remains the responsibility of the individual EU Member States, while the role of the EU is to support and supplement national actions by stimulating exchanges, dialogue and mutual understanding. The freedom of movement brought about by the Internal Market has facilitated cultural exchanges and cultural dialogue across borders. At the same time, globalisation has increased exposure to more diverse cultures from across the world, making intercultural dialogue an important objective of the Creative Europe Programme.

Was the content helpful?