Civil Protection

This area is covered by Protocol 31 to the EEA Agreement and falls under Subcommittee IV.

The Working Group on Civil Protection is responsible for EEA EFTA participation in the Union Civil Protection Mechanism 2014-2020.  Read more about EEA EFTA participation in EU programmes.

The Union Civil Protection Mechanism involves the participation of  31 countries: all 28 EU Member States and Iceland, Norway and the FYR Macedonia, which pool their civil protection resources available to disaster-stricken countries.

The new Union Civil Protection Mechanism was incorporated into the EEA Agreement in June 2014. The Mechanism supports major projects, workshops and training courses in the field of prevention, preparedness and response to natural disasters, both at land and at sea.

Senior Officer
Internal Market Division

+32 22861 772

Seminar on the European Economic Area - Brussels 13 February 2020