Financial Background

EEA EFTA participation in a given EU programme is possible if the three EEA EFTA States agree to it. The legal basis for participation is then established through a decision of the EEA Joint Committee. When agreeing to incorporate programmes into the EEA Agreement, the EEA EFTA States also commit themselves to paying an annual financial contribution into the EU budget.

This annual financial contribution is presented in the EEA annex of the Commission’s section of the EU general budget. Within EFTA, this financial contribution is often referred to as the EEA EFTA budget. As an integrated part of the financing of their participation in EU programmes, the EEA EFTA States also second a certain number of national experts to work in the European Commission.

Switzerland participates in certain EU programmes and seconds national experts to the Commission on a bilateral basis.

Was the content helpful?