• EFTA Standing and EEA Joint Committees meet on 12 and 13 July 2012   13.07.2012
    Ambassador Atle Leikvoll, Mission of Norway to the EU, chairing the EEA Joint Committee Meeting on 13 July 2012

    The EFTA Standing Committee and EEA Joint Committee met in Brussels on 12 and 13 July, respectively. Norway took over as Chair of both the Standing Committee and, on behalf of the EEA EFTA States, the Joint Committee. The EEA Joint Committee incorporated 28 EU acts into the EEA Agreement, including the Eurovignette Directive, the Temporary Agency Work Directive, the Goods Package, and the GMES programme.

  • Highlights from the Subcommittees I-II-III-IV meeting and the Joint Subcommittees I-II-III-IV meeting on 3 July 2012   06.07.2012

    The main discussions which took place during the internal meeting related to Financial Services, the Environment and Energy. Delegates had an exchange of views on the Regulations relating to the Financial Supervisory Authorities, the European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB), Alternative Investment Fund Managers as well as the Regulation on Credit Rating Agencies. Another main point discussed was the revised Emissions Trading Scheme (ETS) as well as the related ETS registry Regulation.

  • Audiovisual Media Services (AVMS) Directive incorporated into the EEA Agreement   15.06.2012

    Among the legal acts incorporated into the EEA Agreement on 15 June 2012 were the Audiovisual Media Services (AVMS) Directive and the CLP Regulation on the labelling of chemicals.

  • EFTA Standing and EEA Joint Committees meet on 14 and 15 June 2012   15.06.2012
    Swiss Ambassador to the EU, Jacques De Watteville and his successor Roberto Balzaretti

    The EFTA Standing Committee and EEA Joint Committee met in Brussels on 14 and 15 June, respectively. Iceland chaired the Standing Committee and represented the EEA EFTA States in the Joint Committee under the chairmanship of the European External Action Service.

  • Modernised social security coordination extends to the EEA EFTA States   31.05.2012

    As from 1 June 2012, EU’s new regulation on social security coordination will also apply to Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway by virtue of the EEA Agreement. The regulation aims at modernising and improving the coordination of national social security systems, which is crucial in order to facilitate the free movement of persons in the EU and thus also in the EEA. For Switzerland, the regulation has applied since 1 April 2012 through a bilateral agreement with the EU.

  • EEA EFTA States submit comments on the proposals regarding Alternative Dispute Resolution and Online Dispute Resolution   28.05.2012

    On 24 May 2012, the EEA EFTA States submitted a Comment on the Commission’s Proposal for a Directive on Alternative Dispute Resolution and the Commission’s Proposal for a Regulation on Online Dispute Resolution to the European Parliament in view of the adoption of a draft report on each of the proposals.

  • EEA EFTA States provide comments on the Commission’s package on e-Commerce   28.05.2012

    On 25 May 2012 the EEA EFTA States submitted a Comment on e-Commerce to the Danish Presidency, in view of the Council meeting scheduled to take place on 30 May 2012 during which the Council is expected to adopt conclusions on the Digital Single Market and Governance of the Single Market.

  • Thirty-seventh meeting of the EEA Council in Brussels   14.05.2012
    The EEA Council 14 May 2012 (Photo: Council of the European Union)

    The thirty-seventh meeting of the EEA Council took place in Brussels on 14 May 2012. The EEA Council assessed the overall functioning of the EEA Agreement, including maintaining and enhancing the homogeneity of the EEA; the financial crisis and its implications for EEA cooperation; decision making and shaping; energy and climate change and the operation of the financial mechanisms. The EEA Council held an orientation debate on Strategies for Growth in Europe.

  • Social partners adopt resolutions on the EEA Review and the Enterprise Dimension of the Single Market   07.05.2012

    Members of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) and social partners from Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein met in Akureyri, Iceland on 3-4 May 2012 for the 20th meeting of the EEA Consultative Committee (EEA CC).

  • Parliamentarians seek more predictability in the EEA   07.05.2012
    Pat the Cope Gallagher, President and Harry Quaderer, Vice-President, Joint Parliamentary Committee

    Members of the European Parliament and Parliamentarians from Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway met in Akureyri, Iceland, 3-4 May 2012, at the 38th meeting of the European Economic Area Joint Parliamentary Committee (EEA JPC).