• EEA EFTA Chair presents priorities for second half of 2016   07.07.2016
    Ambassador Bergdís Ellertsdóttir, Mission of Iceland to the EU, and Kristinn Árnason, EFTA Secretary General.

    On 1 July 2016, Iceland took over the rotating Chair of the EFTA Standing Committee for the second-half of the year. Among the key priorities in the work programme is to monitor the outcome of the UK's referendum on the EU.

  • EEA EFTA Comment on proposal to boost mobile internet services   04.07.2016

    On 4 July 2016, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway submitted a joint comment on the European Commission’s proposal to coordinate the use of the 700 MHz band for mobile services. The proposal aims at boosting mobile internet services with high-quality radio frequencies. It will improve internet access for all Europeans and help develop cross-border applications.

  • Commission presents Standardisation Package and Joint Initiative on Standardisation to EFTA   06.06.2016
    Crispin Waymouth, Deputy Head of Unit at DG Grow.

    The 146th meeting of EFTA’s Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT Committee) took place in Brussels on 2 June. Representatives of the European Commission informed the Committee about the Standardisation Package adopted by the Commission the previous day, as well as the Joint Initiative on Standardisation (JIS), in which EFTA has had an active role.

  • EEA: new rules on devices for recording driving and rest times   03.06.2016
    Mr Claude Maerten, Head of Division, European External Action Service (EEAS), chairing the meeting of the EEA Joint Committee

    At its meeting on 3 June in Brussels, the EEA Joint Committee adopted 30 decisions incorporating 34 EU acts into the EEA Agreement, including one that provides for a new generation of digital tachographs for vehicles used for professional transport.

  • EEA EFTA Comment on common aviation rules   03.06.2016
    EEA EFTA states have made comments on EU Commission's proposal in the field of aviation. Photo: Pixabay.

    On 2 June 2016, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway submitted an EEA EFTA Comment on the proposal for a regulation on common rules in the field of civil aviation and establishing a European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA). The proposal was introduced by the European Commission in December 2015 and is currently being discussed in the European Parliament and the Council.

  • EEA Council welcomes the signing of the new financial mechanisms   25.05.2016
    Mr Bert Koenders, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands, representing the Presidency of the Council of the EU

    At the 45th meeting of the EEA Council, held in Brussels on 25 May 2016, Ministers discussed the signing of the new financial mechanisms and held an orientation debate on Better Regulation and its impact on the EEA.

  • Invitation to EFTA Seminar on the functioning of the EEA Agreement   18.05.2016

    The biannual introductory seminar on the EEA will take place on Thursday 8 September 2016 at the EFTA Secretariat's premises in Brussels.

  • Signature of the agreements on the Financial Mechanisms for the period 2014-2021   03.05.2016

    The EEA EFTA States Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway have signed the new agreements with the EU on the Financial Mechanisms for the period 2014-2021.

  • New deal to cut roaming prices and standardise mobile phone chargers in the EEA   29.04.2016
    Claude Maerten, Head of Division, European External Action Service (EU Chair)

    Decisions on lower roaming prices, standardised mobile phone chargers and revised public procurement rules were among those adopted by the EEA Joint Committee on 29 April 2016. In total, 37 decisions were adopted incorporating 64 EU legal acts into the EEA Agreement.

  • EEA adaptations to the EU financial supervisory system   28.04.2016

    After intensive and technically complex negotiations on the formulation of the EEA adaptations to the European Union's financial supervisory system, the first draft Joint Committee Decisions (JCDs) for the incorporation of this regulatory framework into the EEA Agreement have now been submitted to the EU and the national parliaments in Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.