Peru-EFTA 1st Joint Committee meeting under the Joint Declaration on Co-operation

Published 03-10-2006
At their 1st Joint Committee meeting on 3 October 2006, Peru and the EFTA States (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) had a fruitful exchange of views on the state of play of their bilateral trade and investment relations.

A Joint Declaration on Cooperation between the EFTA States and Peru was signed 24 April 2006. The main objectives of the Declaration are to enhance economic relations and to establish a framework for the expansion, diversification and liberalisation of trade and investment. Under the Declaration, the EFTA States and Peru will seek to create favourable conditions conducive to capital flows and investment, thus improving conditions for private sector industrial co-operation.

The Joint Committee aims at serving as a forum to put the co-operation into practice and to discuss other issues of mutual interest to the Parties. They discussed the main trade policy issues including: trade in goods, agriculture, trade in services, government procurement, competition, intellectual property rights and investment. The Parties agreed to meet again in Spring 2007 to discuss possible further steps in their trade relations.

Seminar on the European Economic Area - EEA - Brussels 15 September 2020