EFTA and MERCOSUR discuss closer trade relations

Published 16-09-2011
Mr Sveinung Røren and Ambassador Álvaro Ons.
Delegations from EFTA and MERCOSUR met on 12-13 September 2011 in Monte­video within the framework of the Joint Committee established under the Declaration on Cooperation between the two sides.

A Joint Declaration on Cooperation between the four EFTA States and MERCOSUR (comprising Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay) was signed in 2000. The Committee has convened on two previous occasions.

Delegations reviewed recent economic developments and in particular their bilateral trade and investment relations. They concurred that the possibilities of enhancing economic exchanges and cooperation should be examined through further dialogue and meetings.

The EFTA delegation was headed by Mr Sveinung Røren, Deputy Director General in the Ministry of Trade and Industry of Norway, while Ambassador Álvaro Ons, Director General for Integration and MERCOSUR in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Uruguay, led the MERCOSUR side.

Merchandise trade between the EFTA States and MERCOSUR reached USD 6.2 billion in 2010. EFTA's top exports include pharmaceutical products, machinery and organic chemicals. EFTA mainly imports inorganic chemicals, aluminum and miscellaneous food from MERCOSUR.

Request more information

Questions about trade and our free trade agreements? The EFTA Secretariat is here to answer your questions on trade matters.

Was the content helpful?