EFTA-Ecuador agreement entered into force

Published 02-11-2020
From the signing of the CEPA in 2018: Pablo Campana Sáenz, Minister for Foreign Trade, Ecuador; Aurelia Frick, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Liechtenstein; Guðlaugur Þór Þórðarson, (Chair) Minister for Foreign Affairs and External Trade, Iceland; Torbjørn Røe Isaksen, Minister of Trade and Industry, Norway; Johann N. Schneider-Ammann, Federal Councillor, Head of the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research, Switzerland; Kristinn F. Árnason, Secretary-General, EFTA Secretari

The EFTA-Ecuador Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (CEPA), signed on 25 June 2018 in Sauðárkrókur, Iceland, entered into force on 1 November 2020.

The EFTA-Ecuador CEPA has a comprehensive coverage, with rules on trade in goods (including sanitary and phytosanitary measures, technical barriers to trade, trade remedies, rules of origin and trade facilitation), trade in services, establishment (investment), intellectual property rights, government procurement, competition, trade and sustainable development and cooperation. A Joint Committee will oversee the implementation of the Agreement.

For more information click here.

Senior Officer
Trade Relations Division

+41 22 332 26 33

Request more information

Questions about trade and our free trade agreements? The EFTA Secretariat is here to answer your questions on trade matters.

Was the content helpful?