Standing and Joint Committee meetings - 30 September and 1 October 2010

Published 01-10-2010
The Standing and Joint Committees met on 30 September and 1 October 2010 respectively. The Chair welcomed the new members of the Standing Committee: Kurt Jaeger, Ambassador for Liechtenstein; Niels Engelschiøn, Norwegian Deputy Head of Mission; and Sabine Monauni-Tömördy, College member of the EFTA Surveillance Authority.

The Joint Committee adopted 17 decisions incorporating 20 legal acts. The Commission gave two briefings: Reinhard Felke, Head of Unit, DG Economic and Financial Affairs, presented the Commission’s legislative proposals for Stronger EU Economic Governance and Sophia Eriksson Waterschoot, Head of Section, "Higher Education Policy", Unit for Higher Education and Erasmus, gave an overview of Youth on the Move, one of the flagship initiatives of Europe 2020 that was launched by the Commission in September 2010. Following the briefings, the Chair opened the floor for questions and comments.

Was the content helpful?