EEA Joint Committee incorporates 115 legal acts into the EEA Agreement

Published 23-09-2022
The Icelandic Ambassador Kristján Andri Stefánsson chaired the meeting
The EEA Joint Committee met on 23 September 2022 at the EFTA House. The meeting was chaired by Mr Kristján Andri Stefánsson, Ambassador of Iceland to the European Union, and by Mr Richard Szostak, Director Western European Partners, Secretariat General of the European Commission. 
In total, 48 Joint Committee decisions (JCDs) were adopted at the meeting, incorporating 115 legal acts. Among them are acts concerning COVID-19 certificates issued by third countries and the monitoring and reporting of data related to CO2 emissions from passenger cars.  
Both sides agreed that the good cooperation between the EU and the EFTA States is a signal of unity during these times.  
The EEA Joint Committee is responsible for the management of the EEA Agreement and is a forum in which views are exchanged and decisions are taken by consensus to incorporate EU legislation into the EEA Agreement. The committee is comprised of the ambassadors of the EEA EFTA States and representatives of the Secretariat-General of the European Commission. 
Find the list of JCDs here
Find photos from the meeting here.

Was the content helpful?