EEA EFTA Prime Ministers will meet all EU leaders to mark 25 years of the EEA

Published 19-03-2019
The Prime Ministers of the EEA EFTA States – Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway – have been invited as guests to the European Council to mark the 25th anniversary of the European Economic Area, the EEA. On this occasion, the three Prime Ministers will have an opportunity to exchange views with all EU leaders.

The meeting is due to start at 9:30 on Friday 22 March. At 10:15 there will be a family photo with the Prime Ministers – Katrín Jakobsdóttir (Iceland), Adrian Hasler (Liechtenstein), and Erna Solberg (Norway) – and leaders of all EU Member States, as well as Presidents Donald Tusk and Jean-Claude Juncker. It will be the first time in the 25 years of the EEA that leaders of all EEA participating countries meet jointly.

This historical event can be viewed live from 10:15 on 22 March here.

Find the Agenda for the Spring European Council here.

Ahead of this summit, a video has been prepared to celebrate partnerships between the EEA EFTA States and the EU and the success of the EEA Agreement:



The video is available in four languages: English - German - Icelandic - Norwegian

The Agreement on the European Economic Area was signed in 1992 in Porto, Portugal and entered into force in 1994. It provides for the inclusion of EU legislation covering the four freedoms - the free movement of goods, services, persons and capital - throughout the 31 EEA states. Thus, the EEA extends the EU Internal Market to Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

The Spring European Council will focus on strengthening the European economic base. EU leaders will also discuss climate change, the upcoming summit with China and ways to tackle disinformation. On 21 March 2019, the EU27 leaders will meet to discuss Brexit.


Head of Information and Communication
Secretary-General's Office

Was the content helpful?