Advisory bodies meet EEA EFTA Ministers to discuss EEA

Published 27-11-2012
On 26 November 2012, the EEA EFTA Ministers, the Committee of Members of Parliament of the EFTA States (MPS) and the EFTA Consultative Committee (EFTA CC) met at the EFTA Secretariat in Brussels. The Foreign Ministers came directly from the EEA Council meeting to brief the parliamentarians and social partners on the outcome of that meeting and to exchange views on the main issues currently on the agenda in the EEA.

The meeting was co-chaired by the Chair of the EFTA CC, Mr Halldór Grönvold, and the Chair of the MPS, Mr Harry Quaderer. It was attended by Mr Espen Barth Eide, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Norway and Chair of the Standing Committee at Ministerial level; Mr Össur Skarphéðinsson, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Iceland; and Mr Kurt Jäger, Ambassador, Permanent Mission of Liechtenstein to the EU.

As President of the EEA Council in the second half of 2012, Minister Barth Eide made a statement detailing the discussions that had taken place earlier in the afternoon, both on the overall functioning of the EEA Agreement and on the political dialogue.

Committee members put numerous questions to the Ministers, especially regarding the new European Supervisory Authorities for financial markets, EEA EFTA participation in the new EU programmes 2014 – 2020, the social dimension of the Single Market Act II, two-speed Europe and the Middle East peace process.

Was the content helpful?