70 legal acts incorporated into the EEA Agreement

Published 13-06-2019
The Standing Committee is currently chaired by Sabine Monauni, Ambassador of Liechtenstein.
The Standing Committee of the EFTA States and the EEA Joint Committee met in Brussels on 11 and 13 June respectively. The Joint Committee meeting adopted 46 decisions incorporating 70 legal acts into the EEA Agreement.

The payment services Directive (EU 2015/2366), which builds on the first payment services Directive (2007/64/EF) was among these acts. The Directive aims to create and facilitate a unitary legal framework for payment services in the European Economic Area. Furthermore, it aims to facilitate the development of an integrated internal market for safe electronic payments, ensuring that consumers, merchants and companies enjoy choice and transparency of payment services to benefit fully from the internal market.

In the Joint Committee, the EEA EFTA Chair, Sabine Monauni, noted that 440 legal acts have been incorporated into the EEA Agreement so far this year, which exceeds the number of acts incorporated in the whole of 2018.

“We are very pleased to note that the backlog has been further reduced since our last meeting. Considering the quite significant number of acts we have incorporated today, I am hopeful that we will see a further reduction in the number of pending acts before the summer,” said Ms Monauni.

Provisional texts of EEA Joint Committee Decisions in 2019.

List of adopted Joint Committee Decisions (JCDs)

Was the content helpful?