58 legal acts incorporated into the EEA Agreement

Published 01-02-2013
In the EEA Joint Committee meeting on Friday 1 February, 28 decisions were adopted incorporating 58 legal acts into the EEA Agreement.

The Standing Committee of the EFTA States and EEA Joint Committee met in Brussels on 31 January and 1 February 2013, respectively. One of the 58 legal acts adopted by the Joint Committee was the Directive on the Annual Accounts of Micro-entities, which is described in more detail in a separate news item. To see the full list of legal acts, please follow this link. Provisional draft texts of the 28 Joint Committee Decisions can be found here.

The EEA Joint Committee, chaired this semester by the EU, is responsible for the day-to-day management of the EEA Agreement. It provides the forum in which views are exchanged and decisions are taken by consensus to incorporate Community legislation into the EEA Agreement. The EFTA Standing Committee, chaired this semester by Liechtenstein, serves as a forum in which the EEA EFTA States consult one another and arrive at a common position before meeting with the EU in the Joint Committee.

Was the content helpful?