About EFTA News

  • Liechtenstein takes over Chair of EFTA Council   12.07.2013
    Ambassador Norbert Frick and Peter Matt

    At the meeting of the EFTA Council on 11 July 2013 in Geneva, the incoming Council Chair, Liechtenstein, presented its priorities for the second half of the year, which are based on the conclusions from the Ministerial meeting in Trondheim, Norway. The Council also reviewed the latest round of free trade negotiations between EFTA and the Customs Union of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan.

  • EFTA Ministerial meeting, Trondheim, Norway, 24 June 2013   24.06.2013

    On 24 June 2013, the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) held its summer Ministerial meeting in Trondheim, Norway. The meeting was chaired by Mr Trond Giske, Minister of Trade and Industry of Norway. Ministers of the four EFTA States (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) signed free trade agreements with the Central American States of Costa Rica and Panama, represented by Ms Anabel González, Minister of Foreign Trade of Costa Rica and Mr Ricardo Quijano, Minister of Trade and Industry of Panama; and with Bosnia and Herzegovina, represented by Mr Mirko Šarović, Minister of Foreign Trade and Economic Relations. A joint declaration on cooperation was signed with Myanmar, represented by Mr Pwint San, Deputy Minister of Commerce.

  • EFTA Council prepares for summer Ministerial meeting   11.06.2013
    Ambassador Elin Østebø Johansen chairing the EFTA Council

    At its meeting in Geneva on 11 June, the EFTA Council prepared for the summer EFTA Ministerial meeting that will take place in Trondheim, Norway, on 24 June 2013. The Council also reviewed ongoing free trade negotiations, including a recent round with Vietnam.

  • EFTA Council discusses current free trade negotiations and the summer Ministerial meeting   18.04.2013
    Ambassador Elin Østebø Johansen chairing the EFTA Council on 18 April 2013

    The EFTA Council met for the second time this year on 18 April under the chairmanship of Norway. The Council discussed free trade relations with several countries outside the European Union and approved amendments to the EFTA Convention. The Council also started preparations for the EFTA Summer Ministerial meeting in Norway.

  • EFTA Council Chair outlines priorities for first half of 2013   07.02.2013
    Elin Østebø Johansen, Norway's Ambassador to the WTO and EFTA.

    The EFTA Council held its first meeting of 2013 on 7 February in Geneva, under the Norwegian Chairmanship. Ambassador Elin Østebø Johansen presented Norway’s priorities for the first half of the year. The Council adopted the EFTA-Eurostat Technical Cooperation Programme for 2013 and discussed ongoing free trade processes.

  • EFTA Council meets for the last time in 2012 and reviews the Ministerial meeting   04.12.2012
    Ambassador Martin Eyjólfsson of Iceland.

    The EFTA Council met for the last time in 2012 on 4 December and reviewed the winter Ministerial meeting held on 12 November in Geneva. The budget for 2013 was also approved.

  • EFTA and EU Ministers of Finance and Economy meet in Brussels   13.11.2012
    Katrín Júlíusdóttir and Vassos Shiarly

    The annual meeting of EFTA and EU Ministers of Finance and Economy (the “EFTA ECOFIN”) took place on 13 November 2012 in Brussels. The main topic for discussion was financial markets integration and economic growth.

  • EFTA Ministerial meeting, Geneva, Switzerland, 12 November 2012   12.11.2012
    Össur Skarphéðinsson

    On 12 November 2012, the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) held a Ministerial Meeting in Geneva under the Chairmanship of Mr Össur Skarphéðinsson, Minister for Foreign Affairs and External Trade of Iceland. The EFTA Ministers signed a Joint Declaration on Cooperation with Pakistan, represented by Mr Shahid Bashir, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the World Trade Organisation in Geneva.

  • EFTA Council: Senior appointments for Brussels office   06.11.2012
    From right to left: Ambassador Martin Eyjólfsson, Mission of Iceland to EFTA and WTO, chairing the EFTA Council on 6 November 2012, Council Secretary Gudmundur Einarsson and Secretary-General Kristinn F. Árnason.

    On 6 November 2012, the EFTA Council discussed preparations for the meeting of EFTA Ministers that will take place in Geneva on 12 November under the chairmanship of Iceland. The Council appointed Ambassador Helge Skaara of Norway as Deputy Secretary-General for the Association’s Brussels office.

  • The EFTA Council discusses the upcoming EFTA Ministerial meeting and current free trade negotiations   04.10.2012
    Ambassador Martin Eyjólfsson of Iceland, Chair of the EFTA Council

    The EFTA Council met for the seventh time in 2012 in Geneva on 4 October 2012 under the chairmanship of Iceland, which holds the rotating EFTA chair during the second half of this year. The Council discussed the Ministerial meeting in November and ongoing free trade processes.