Icelandic ministers visit EFTA House

Published 16-06-2021
From left: ESA President Bente Angell-Hansen; EFTA Deputy Secretary-General Andri Lúthersson; Foreign Minister Guðlaugur Þór Þórðarson; EFTA Head of Communications Thorfinnur Omarsson; Prime Minister Katrín Jakobsdóttir; FMO Deputy Managing Director Árni Páll Árnason; Ambassador Kristján Andri Stefánsson.

On 15 June 2021, Iceland‘s Prime Minister Katrín Jakobsdóttir and Foreign Minister Guðlaugur Þór Þórðarson, visited EFTA House in Brussels, the new home of the EFTA Secretariat, the EFTA Surveillance Authority (ESA) and the Financial Mechanism Office (FMO).

This is the first ministerial visit to the new office building in Brussels since the three organisations moved under the same roof in March this year. Facilities in this landmark building will create opportunities to promote the EEA Agreement and other activities, to the benefit of the EFTA Member States.

“It is highly important for the EEA EFTA States and these three organisations to have a strong presence in the European area in Brussels. With this new building, which will offer us a strong platform to increase the visibility of the EEA, I am sure that our important voice will be made ever more present. I am also impressed to learn that the house has been built with the highest energy-saving standards and with an ambitious zero-carbon footprint”, said Prime Minister Katrín Jakobsdóttir.

The building not only complies with the latest energy regulations, but also with the additional high demands in terms of quality and sustainability.

“I can see great potential for Iceland and the other EFTA States to further promote and strengthen the EEA and also to enhance global free trade with this super building which houses three important players in the European institutional architecture”, said Foreign Minister Guðlaugur Þór Þórðarsson.

At EFTA, the two ministers were greeted by Deputy Secretary-General Andri Lúthersson.

From left: FMO Deputy Managing Director Árni Páll Árnason; Ambassador Kristján Andri Stefánsson; ESA President Bente Angell-Hansen; Foreign Minister Guðlaugur Þór Þórðarson; EFTA Deputy Secretary-General Andri Lúthersson; Prime Minister Katrín Jakobsdóttir.

Photos from the visit.

Deputy Secretary-General
EEA Coordination Division

+32 22861 730

Information and Records Supervisor
Secretary-General's Office

+32 2 28 61 765

Was the content helpful?

EEA Seminar - 15 September 2022