EFTA and EU Ministers of Finance and Economy meet in Brussels

Published 08-11-2011
The annual meeting of EFTA and EU Ministers of Finance and Economy (the “EFTA ECOFIN”) took place on 8 November 2011 in Brussels. The item on the agenda was Ensuring Financial Sector Stability. The EFTA ECOFIN meeting was preceded by an internal meeting of the EFTA Ministers.

The EFTA ECOFIN meeting was chaired by Jan Vincent-Rostowski, Minister of Finance, representing the Polish Presidency of the EU Council. The current EFTA Chair, Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf, Federal Councillor, Head of the Federal Department of Finance, Switzerland, presented the common EFTA paper. Olli Rehn, Commissioner for Economic and Financial Affairs, and Michel Barnier, Commissioner for the Internal Market and Services, presented the Commission’s position on the issue. Mario Draghi, the newly elected President of the European Central Bank, then presented the ECB’s views.

Brief interventions were made by the Ministers of Finance from Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

Seminar on the European Economic Area - Brussels 17 September 2019