EFTA and EU Ministers of Finance and Economy meet in Brussels

Published 13-11-2012
The annual meeting of EFTA and EU Ministers of Finance and Economy (the “EFTA ECOFIN”) took place on 13 November 2012 in Brussels. The main topic for discussion was financial markets integration and economic growth.

The EFTA ECOFIN meeting was chaired by Vassos Shiarly, Minister of Finance, representing the Cyprus Presidency of the EU Council. The current EFTA chair, Sigbjørn Johnsen, Minister of Finance of Norway, presented the common EFTA paper. Olli Rehn, Commissioner for Economic and Financial Affairs, and Michel Barnier, Commissioner for the Internal Market and Services, presented the Commission’s position on the issue.

Brief interventions were made by Katrín Júlíusdóttir, Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs of Iceland, Klaus Tschuetscher, Prime Minister and Minister of Finance of Liechtenstein, and Didier Burkhalter, Swiss Federal Councillor and Minister of Foreign Affairs.

High resolution pictures from the meeting can be found here.



The EFTA side at ECOFIN meeting.

Was the content helpful?