EFTA, Peru and Ukraine plan to sign free trade agreements in Reykjavik

Published 15-06-2010
On 5 June the EFTA Council met for the fifth time in 2010 under the chairmanship of Iceland. It prepared for the Ministerial meeting in Reykjavik in June and discussed relations with countries outside the EU, notably with Russia.

The Council reviewed the arrangements for the upcoming meeting of EFTA Ministers in Reykjavik on 24 June. Two free trade agreements will be signed at this occasion, with Peru and with Ukraine. The EFTA Ministers will also meet with the EFTA Parliamentary Committee and with the EFTA Consultative Committee, representing the EFTA social partners.

Concerning relations with countries outside the EU, the Council notably discussed the talks held from 26 to 28 May 2010 in Geneva on the possible implications of the establishment of a customs union between Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan. Representatives from Belarus and Kazakhstan participated in the meetings as observers.

The next Council meeting will take place on 20 July 2010.

Was the content helpful?

EEA Seminar - 15 September 2022