EFTA Council adopts different rotation for chairmanship

Published 19-09-2019
From left: Andri Lúthersson Deputy Secretary-General, Hege Marie Hoff Deputy Secretary-General, Henri Gétaz Secretary-General, Pascal Schafhauser Deputy Secretary-General, Dagfinn Sørli Norwegian Ambassador (Chair), Helga Helland Deputy Norwegian mission.
On 19 September, the EFTA Council met for the seventh time in 2019, under the Norwegian Chairmanship. During the meeting, the delegates discussed work with regard to third countries and in particular the finalisation of the negotiations with Mercosur.

Delegations most notably discussed the progress made on the latest and final round of negotiations with Mercosur which allowed the Parties to conclude the negotiations in substance in all areas. Furthermore, the Council formally adopted a decision to transform the previous six-month rotation for chairmanship into a one-year EFTA Council Chairmanship, as decided by Ministers during the Ministerial meeting on 24 June. The one-year Chairmanship will take effect as of 1 July 2020.

The EFTA Council is the highest governing body of EFTA. The Council usually meets eight times a year at ambassadorial level (Heads of Permanent Delegations to EFTA) and from now on once a year at ministerial level. In the Council meetings, the delegations consult with one another, negotiate and decide upon policy issues regarding EFTA. Each Member State is represented and decisions are reached through consensus. Conclusions from the EFTA Council are publicly available on the EFTA Register.

Secretary-General's Office

+41 79 4533754

Was the content helpful?