Latest News


EFTA and the Philippines hold trade promotion seminars

The EFTA – Philippines Free Trade Agreement (FTA) entered into force for the Philippines, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland on 1 June 2018. In this regard, EFTA and the Philippines jointly held a series of trade promotion seminars to introduce the provisions of the FTA and the opportunities it provides. The seminars were held on 5 November in Cebu, on 7 November in Davao and on 9 November 2018 in Manila. There is great interest in the new FTA and the seminars were well attended with a total of about 300 participants from private companies and government authorities.

Annual EFTA-ECOFIN meeting focuses on financial technology and the FinTech Action Plan

EFTA and EU Ministers of Finance and Economy discussed the economic, financial and political situation in Europe at their annual EFTA-ECOFIN meeting in Brussels on 6 November 2018. This year, particular attention was given to financial technology and the European FinTech Action Plan. The three EEA EFTA Ministers also discussed Brexit and legal incorporation with the EU Commission’s Vice-President Valdis Dombrovskis.

EEA Joint Committee incorporates directive on posted workers

The Standing Committee of the EFTA States and the EEA Joint Committee met in Brussels on 25 and 26 October respectively. At the Joint Committee meeting, 13 decisions (JCDs) were adopted incorporating 21 EU legal acts into the EEA Agreement, including a Directive on the posting of workers.