DECISION OF THE EEA JOINT COMMITTEE No 86/2009

of 3 July 2009

amending Annex XIX (Consumer protection) to the EEA Agreement

THE EEA JOINT COMMITTEE,

Having regard to the Agreement on the European Economic Area, as amended by the Protocol adjusting the Agreement on the European Economic Area, hereinafter referred to as 'the Agreement', and in particular Article 98 thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Annex XIX to the Agreement was amended by Decision of the EEA Joint Committee No 16/2009 of 5 February 2009¹.
- (2) Directive 2008/122/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 14 January 2009 on the protection of consumers in respect of certain aspects of timeshare, long-term holiday product, resale and exchange contracts² is to be incorporated into the Agreement.
- (3) Directive 2008/122/EC repeals Directive 94/47/EC of the European Parliament and the Council³, which is incorporated into the Agreement and which is consequently to be repealed under the Agreement,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

The text of point 7b (Directive 94/47/EC of the European Parliament and the Council) of Annex XIX to the Agreement shall be replaced by the following:

'32008 L 0122: Directive 2008/122/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 14 January 2009 on the protection of consumers in respect of certain aspects of timeshare, long-term holiday product, resale and exchange contracts (OJ L 33, 3.2.2009, p. 10).'

¹ OJ L 73, 19.3.2009, p. 53.

² OJ L 33, 3.2.2009, p. 10.

³ OJ L 280, 29.10.1994, p. 83.

Article 2

The texts of Directive 2008/122/EC in the Icelandic and Norwegian languages, to be published in the EEA Supplement to the *Official Journal of the European Union*, shall be authentic.

Article 3

This Decision shall enter into force on 4 July 2009, provided that all the notifications under Article 103(1) of the Agreement have been made to the EEA Joint Committee^{*}.

Article 4

This Decision shall be published in the EEA Section of, and in the EEA Supplement to, the *Official Journal of the European Union*.

Done at Brussels, 3 July 2009.

For the EEA Joint Committee The President

O. H. Sletnes

The Secretaries to the EEA Joint Committee

B. Ellertsdóttir M. Brinkmann

Constitutional requirements indicated.