32006L0021.A20

EN EN

DECISION OF THE EEA JOINT COMMITTEE No 18/2009

of 5 February 2009

amending Annex XX (Environment) to the EEA Agreement

THE EEA JOINT COMMITTEE,

Having regard to the Agreement on the European Economic Area, as amended by the Protocol adjusting the Agreement on the European Economic Area, hereinafter referred to as 'the Agreement', and in particular Article 98 thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Annex XX to the Agreement was amended by Decision of the EEA Joint Committee No 122/2008 of 7 November 2008 ¹.
- (2) Directive 2006/21/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 15 March 2006 on the management of waste from extractive industries and amending Directive 2004/35/EC² is to be incorporated into the Agreement,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

Annex XX to the Agreement shall be amended as follows:

- 1. The following point shall be inserted after point 32fd (Commission Decision 2006/329/EC):
 - '32fe.**32006** L **0021**: Directive 2006/21/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 15 March 2006 on the management of waste from extractive industries and amending Directive 2004/35/EC (OJ L 102, 11.4.2006, p. 15).'
- 2. The following shall be added in point 1i (Directive 2004/35/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council):
 - ', as amended by:
 - **32006** L **0021**: Directive 2006/21/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 15 March 2006 (OJ L 102, 11.4.2006, p. 15).'

-

OJ L 339, 18.12.2008, p. 114.

OJ L 102, 11.4.2006, p. 15.

Article 2

The texts of Directive 2006/21/EC in the Icelandic and Norwegian languages, to be published in the EEA Supplement to the *Official Journal of the European Union*, shall be authentic.

Article 3

This Decision shall enter into force on 6 February 2009, provided that all the notifications under Article 103(1) of the Agreement have been made to the EEA Joint Committee*.

Article 4

This Decision shall be published in the EEA Section of, and in the EEA Supplement to, the *Official Journal of the European Union*.

Done at Brussels, 5 February 2009.

For the EEA Joint Committee The President

Alan Seatter

The Secretaries to the EEA Joint Committee

Bergdis Ellertsdóttir Matthias Brinkmann

^{*} Constitutional requirements indicated.