EN

32007D0779.P31

## DECISION OF THE EEA JOINT COMMITTEE No 39/2008

### of 14 March 2008

### amending Protocol 31 to the EEA Agreement, on cooperation in specific fields outside the four freedoms

# THE EEA JOINT COMMMITTEE,

Having regard to the Agreement on the European Economic Area, as amended by the Protocol adjusting the Agreement on the European Economic Area, hereinafter referred to as 'the Agreement', and in particular Articles 86 and 98 thereof,

#### Whereas:

- Protocol 31 to the Agreement was amended by Decision of the EEA Joint Committee No 96/2007 of 27 July 2007<sup>1</sup>.
- (2) It is appropriate to extend the cooperation of the Contracting Parties to the Agreement to include Council Decision 2007/779/EC, Euratom of 8 November 2007 establishing a Community Civil Protection Mechanism (recast)<sup>2</sup>.
- (3) Decision 2007/779/EC, Euratom repeals Council Decision 2001/792/EC, Euratom<sup>3</sup>, which is included in the Agreement and which is consequently to be repealed under the Agreement.
- (4) Protocol 31 to the Agreement should therefore be amended in order to allow for this extended cooperation to take place from 1 January 2008,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

### Article 1

The text of sub-paragraph (b) of Article 10(8) of Protocol 31 to the Agreement shall be replaced by the following:

'Community acts which shall take effect from 1 January 2008:

- **32007 D 0779**: Council Decision 2007/779/EC, Euratom of 8 November 2007 establishing a Community Civil Protection Mechanism (recast) (OJ L 314, 1.12.2007, p. 9).'

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> OJ L 47, 21.2.2008, p. 1.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> OJ L 314, 1.12.2007, p. 9.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> OJ L 297, 15.11.2001, p. 7.

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the day following the last notification to the EEA Joint Committee under Article 103(1) of the Agreement

It shall apply from 1 January 2008.

## Article 3

This Decision shall be published in the EEA Section of, and in the EEA Supplement to, the *Official Journal of the European Union*.

Done at Brussels, 14 March 2008.

## For the EEA Joint Committee The President

Alan Seatter

The Secretaries to the EEA Joint Committee

Bergdis Ellertsdóttir Matthias Brinkmann

Comment [DQC1]: Footnote has custom reference mark

EN

<sup>\*</sup> No constitutional requirements indicated.