32000 D 0709

DECISION OF THE EEA JOINT COMMITTEE No 48/2001

of 30 March 2001

amending Annex XI (Telecommunication services) to the EEA Agreement

THE EEA JOINT COMMITTEE,

Having regard to the Agreement on the European Economic Area, as amended by the Protocol adjusting the Agreement on the European Economic Area, hereinafter referred to as 'the Agreement', and in particular Article 98 thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Annex XI to the Agreement was amended by Decision of the EEA Joint Committee No 17/2001 of 28 February 2001 ¹.
- (2) Commission Decision 2000/709/EC of 6 November 2000 on the minimum criteria to be taken into account by Member States when designating bodies in accordance with Article 3(4) of Directive 1999/93/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council on a Community framework for electronic signatures² is to be incorporated into the Agreement,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

The following point shall be inserted after point 5g (Directive 1999/93/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council) of Annex XI to the Agreement:

'5ga. **32000 D 0709**: Commission Decision 2000/709/EC of 6 November 2000 on the minimum criteria to be taken into account by Member States when designating bodies in accordance with Article 3(4) of Directive 1999/93/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council on a Community framework for electronic signatures (OJ L 289, 16.11.2000, p. 42).'

¹ OJ L 117, 26.4.2001, p. 21.

² OJ L 289, 16.11.2000, p. 42.

Article 2

The texts of Commission Decision 2000/709/EC in the Icelandic and Norwegian languages, to be published in the EEA Supplement to the *Official Journal of the European Communities*, shall be authentic.

Article 3

This Decision shall enter into force on 31 March 2001, provided that all the notifications under Article 103(1) of the Agreement have been made to the EEA Joint Committee*.

Article 4

This Decision shall be published in the EEA Section of, and in the EEA Supplement to, the *Official Journal of the European Communities*.

Done at Brussels, 30 March 2001.

For the EEA Joint Committee The President

P. Westerlund

The Secretaries to the EEA Joint Committee

P. K. Mannes M. Brinkmann

_

^{*} Constitutional requirements indicated.