• EEA seminar attracts professionals from EFTA and EU Member States   07.02.2017
    EEA Seminar 7 February 2017

    On 7 February 2017, 150 participants from both the public and private sectors met at the EFTA Secretariat in Brussels for an introductory seminar on the European Economic Area (EEA).

  • EEA EFTA States stress importance of close dialogue during Brexit negotiations   03.02.2017
    Ambassador Oda Sletnes chairing the meeting on 2 February 2017

    The EFTA Standing Committee and the EEA Joint Committee held their first meetings of 2017 in Brussels on 2 and 3 February respectively. The Standing Committee, chaired this semester by Norway, heard reports from the delegations on recent high-level meetings.

  • EEA EFTA Comment on wholesale roaming markets   19.01.2017

    On 12 January 2017, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway submitted a joint comment on a European Commission proposal to lower the wholesale caps on international roaming.

  • EEA EFTA Comment on maritime transport safety   05.01.2017

    On 6 January 2017, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway submitted a joint comment in response to the public consultation on the fitness of EU legislation for maritime transport safety and efficiency.

  • EEA EFTA Comment on contract rules for online purchases   21.12.2016

    On 21 December 2016, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway submitted a joint comment on two European Commission proposals aimed at creating harmonised rules to increase consumer trust in the Digital Single Market by providing a high level of consumer protection.

  • EEA EFTA Comment on market surveillance   21.12.2016

    On 21 December, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway submitted a joint Comment on the evaluation of the market surveillance provisions of Regulation (EC) No 765/2008 and on actions to enhance enforcement and compliance in the Single Market for goods.

  • EFTA experts discuss European Accessibility Act with the European Commission   09.12.2016
    From left: Nadine Dünner, EFTA Secretariat, Haakon Aspelund (Norway), Chair of the Strategic Advisory Group on Accessibility (SAGA),  Sebastien Morard (Switzerland) Thomas Näf (Liechtenstein), Chair of the TBT Committee.

    The Working Group on Gender Equality, Anti-Discrimination and Family Policy (GEADFP) and the EFTA Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT Committee) met with experts from the European Commission in Brussels on 7 December to discuss the European Accessibility Act (EAA). The meeting was also attended by experts from ministries in the EEA EFTA States via videolink.

  • EEA EFTA experts invite Chair of IMCO Vicky Ford MEP to exchange views on recent legislative proposals affecting consumers and businesses   01.12.2016
    MEP Vicky Ford (right), Chair of IMCO speaking to the the joint Working Groups on Consumer and Enterprise at the EFTA Secretariat.

    On 1 December, Ms Vicky Ford MEP, Chair of the European Parliament’s Internal Market and Consumer Protection Committee (IMCO), was invited to the EFTA Secretariat in Brussels to exchange views on recent European Commission proposals and initiatives, including legislative proposals on geo-blocking, consumer protection cooperation (CPC) and the Regulatory Fitness and Performance Programme (REFIT) to the benefit of consumers and businesses.

  • EEA EFTA Comment on regulatory framework for construction products   30.11.2016

    On 28 November, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway submitted a joint comment on the regulatory framework for construction products and the implementation of Regulation (EU) No 305/2011 on Construction Products (CPR). The comment is supported by Switzerland.

  • EEA EFTA Comment on Commission proposal to improve the Services Directive   20.11.2016

    EEA EFTA Comment addressing the European Commission’s preparatory work on a legal proposal aimed at improving the notification procedure for national legislation pursuant to Articles 15(7) and 39(5) of the Services Directive.