EEA EFTA Forum of Elected Representatives of Local and Regional Authorities

The EEA EFTA Forum was set up by a decision of the Standing Committee of the EFTA States as an informal body to involve elected representatives from local and regional authorities in EEA matters. The Forum works closely with other EEA EFTA bodies and has established links with the Committee of the Regions of the European Union, an EU advisory body that was established in 1994 just after the signing of the EEA Agreement.

The Forum has twelve full members, six from Iceland and six from Norway. Switzerland observes the meeting but Liechtenstein has decided not to take part for the time being. 

Decision of the Standing Committee of the EFTA States No 10/2009/SC of 3 December 2009 establishing a Forum of Elected Representatives of Local and Regional Authorities of the EEA EFTA States


Members of the Forum


Mr Björn Blöndal, Reykjavík City Council

Ms Sigrún Blöndal, Regional Municipal Federation of Eastern-Iceland

Mr Guðmundur B. Guðmundsson, Eyþing Regional Municipal Federation

Mr Halldór Halldórsson, Icelandic Association of Local Authorities (Chair)

Mr Guðmundur Pálsson, Regional Municipal Federation of the Suðurnes Area

Mr Gunnar Þorgeirsson, Regional Municipal Federation of Southern Iceland



Ms Isabelle-Louise Aabel, Kristiansand City Council

Ms Gry Anette Rekanes Amundsen, Nome Municipal Council

Mr Jon Askeland, Radøy Muncipality

Mr Runar Bålsrud, Hurdal Municipality

Ms Hilde Onarheim, Bergen City Council (Chair)

Mr Nils A Røhne, Municipality of Stange


Switzerland (Observer)

Ms Marie Garnier, Canton of Fribourg

Mr David Eray, Canton of Jura


Opinions adopted by the Forum

EEA Coordination Division

+32 22861 785

Seminar on the European Economic Area - Brussels 13 September 2018