New College at EFTA Surveillance Authority

Published 25-10-2017
From left: Högni S. Kristjánsson, Bente Angell-Hansen and Frank J. Büchel.
On 25 October, the EEA EFTA States appointed a new College of the EFTA Surveillance Authority (ESA). Its members will take up their work on 1 January 2018 under the presidency of Ms Bente Angell-Hansen (Norway).

The Governments of the EEA EFTA States have appointed Ms Bente Angell-Hansen as President of ESA from 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2019, after which she will continue as College member until 31 December 2021.

Ms Angell-Hansen has had a long career in the Norwegian Foreign Service, most recently as Ambassador to Austria and Head of the Norwegian Mission to the United Nations in Vienna. She now leaves the Foreign Service to succeed Mr Sven Erik Svedman as ESA President.

At the same time, Mr Högni S. Kristjánsson from Iceland has been appointed College member from 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2021. Mr Kristjánsson succeeds Ms Helga Jónsdóttir and comes from the position of Permanent Representative to the United Nations, EFTA and WTO in Geneva, where he chaired the EFTA Council in the second half of 2016.

Completing the appointments, Mr Frank J. Büchel from Liechtenstein has been reappointed as member of the College from 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2021. Mr Büchel first took up his position in the ESA College on 1 January 2014.

“The new College will be carrying on the important job of safeguarding the EEA Agreement so that Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway can continue to enjoy the full benefits of the Agreement”, says current President Sven Erik Svedman.

The EFTA Surveillance Authority independently monitors Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway's compliance with EEA rules, enabling them to participate in the Internal Market. For more information, see ESA's website.