EFTA Ministers will meet in Liechtenstein on 21 June

Published 09-06-2011
On 7 June, the EFTA Council in Geneva discussed preparations for the meeting of the EFTA Ministers that will take place in Liechtenstein on 21 June. Plans are underway that EFTA and Hong Kong, China will sign a free trade agreement at this occasion. The Council also reviewed ongoing free trade negotiations with Indonesia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, as well as those with Montenegro.

The EFTA Ministerial meeting will be chaired by Liechtenstein, which holds the rotating EFTA six-month chairmanship.

EFTA and Indonesia held their second round of negotiations on a Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement from 6 to 8 June in Geneva, while negotiations on free trade agreements with Bosnia and Herzegovina, as well as those with Montenegro, took place in May. Good progress was made in all of these processes and EFTA and Montenegro aim to conclude their talks in the coming months.

The next Council meeting will take place on 7 July 2011.

Seminar on the European Economic Area - Brussels 13 September 2018