The European Free Trade Association

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) is an intergovernmental organisation set up for the promotion of free trade and economic integration to the benefit of its four Member States: IcelandLiechtensteinNorwaySwitzerland.

The Association manages the EFTA Convention; EFTA’s worldwide network of free trade and partnership agreements, and the European Economic Area (EEA) Agreement.


News Releases


  • This brochure, in Q&A format, contains general information on EFTA, its main activities and its institutional framework, with a special focus on the functioning of the EEA Agreement and the Internal Market, which allows for the free movement of goods, services, capital and persons across the EEA. The publication is available on paper or electronically.
  • This brochure, in Q&A format, provides an overview of EFTA's free trade relations with partner countries outside the European Union. It contains statistics on the EFTA States and their trading products, as well as key characteristics of the EFTA economies. The publication is available in paper or electronically. 

  • Handbook on EEA EFTA procedures – 2nd edition

    EFTA Bulletin - October 2016.

    This second edition of the Handbook on the EEA EFTA procedures for incorporating EU acts into the EEA Agreement reflects changes made following the 2016 review, namely a reduction of the number of forms used for the processing of acts, and an updated list of categories of acts subject to the fast-track procedure. These changes apply from 24 October 2016.

  • This two-page factsheet gives a general overview of the role and tasks of the European Free Trade Association.

  • 56th Annual Report of the European Free Trade Association, 2015. The report is only available in electronic PDF format.

  • EFTA Surveillance Authority
  • EFTA Court
  • FMO

EEA Introductory Seminar 12 September 2017

Brussels, Tuesday 12 September 2017 9:00

This introductory seminar is intended to provide professionals, both inside and outside the European Union, with a thorough understanding of the Agreement on the European Economic Area and how it integrates Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway into the EU’s Internal Market.



EFTA Trade Statistics

EFTA Trade Statistics is a new, interactive tool that gives insight on trade relations with EFTA's partners over time and by type of merchandise.


Questions and answers on EFTA and the EEA

Frequently asked questions on EFTA
and the EEA